Home Past Seasons About Us Education Media Support

2016 Concert features new SONOS commission


Tuesday May 24, 2016 

Merkin Concert Hall at Kaufman Music Center
129 West 67th Street, New York, NY 10023

Classical music continues to draw audiences and provides an opportunity to be soothed, entertained and sometimes even challenged.  As an art, new music must always be composed and producers and artists much program these to further the art.  In 2008, Music Director Erik Ochsner met Swedish composer Fredrik Sixten and then SONOS performed Fredrik's magnificent Requiem.  To reflect our commitment to living composers, we are very excited to announce a SONOS commission:

Concerto for 2 Pianos and Chamber Orchestra by Fredrik Sixten

Piano Duo Yoo & Kim



After the huge success of Fredrik's Requiem in 2012, SONOS commissioned this new concerto which is composed in honor of the Dranoff International 2 Piano Foundation, and dedicated to the memory of Ruth Unger.

Listen to the SONOS Chamber Orchestra choir perform Agnus Dei from the Fredik Sixten's Requiem.

A photo from the lunch when we finalized the commission!


Copyright 2000-2015 SONOS Chmaber Orchestra. All rights reserved. Acknowledgement
go back to previous page top of page